Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Mr. Panda reviews Earthlock for the Nintendo Switch! It’s a JRPG that wasn’t even made in Japan. Find out what Norwegian developer Snowcastle Games’ throwback to classic 90s RPGs is all about!
►►New? Subscribe here! —

►A review copy was used for this video.

►Earthlock is an turn-based fantasy RPG that follows a young scavenger named Amon, who lives in a magical world that has stopped spinning due to catastrophic events from millenias past. In an effort to save his sick Uncle Benjo (an anthropomorphic hammerhead shark), Amon sets out, meets friends, and discovers secrets about his world.

►►Timestamps:
0:11 – Introduction to Earthlock (“Should Have Been Edition”)
0:41 – Story and Characters
2:03 – Character Progression
3:08 – Battle Preparation
3:43 – Battle System
5:57 – Conclusion

►All footage was captured using Earthlock for Nintendo Switch. Images from Final Fantasy X, Final Fantasy XII: Zodiac Edition, and Earthlock: Festival of Magic are also used.

►►Music Used:
– Vast Canyon (Earthlock)

—–
Game: Earthlock
Platform: Nintendo Switch
Also Available On: Wii U (as the original Earthlock: Festival of Magic), PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Steam, PC, Mac, Linux
Release Date: March 8, 2018
Developer: Snowcastle Games
Publisher: Snowcastle Games
Genre: RPG
Players: 1
Player on Video: Mr. Panda
Host: Mr. Panda

*****
►Follow me on Twitter —
►Like us on Facebook —
►Find me on Instagram —
►Catch the full review on —

*****
Welcome to Mr. Panda’s channel – home of weekly Nintendo game reviews, feature discussions, and more! Run by Alex “Mr. Panda” and Tiffa “Crystal Dragon,” it’s our goal to deliver fun and informative Nintendo content to you!

*****
►►Join my party for reviews of other RPGs!
►Xenoblade Chronicles 2 —
►Lost Sphear —
►I Am Setsuna –

►►Let’s go on some adventure game reviews! From Zelda to point-and-click!
►The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild —
►Zelda: Breath of the Wild DLC Pack 1 – The Master Trials —
►Zelda: Breath of the Wild DLC Pack 2 – The Champions’ Ballad —
►World to the West —
►Thimbleweed Park —
►North —
►The Fall Part 2: Unbound —

►►Watch our Nintendo Switch Launch Year Awards! —

*****
If you enjoyed the video and want to see more, please be sure to hit that LIKE button and SHARE this with a friend! Be sure to SUBSCRIBE for more great Nintendo content! Thank you so much for watching!

*****
Earthlock Review (Nintendo Switch) – A Festival of Magic | Mr. Panda’s Reviews
Earthlock Review (Switch) – The “Should Have Been Edition” | Mr. Panda’s Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Article

No Related Article

9 Comments

Mr. Panda April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

Thank you so much for watching my review! Please be sure to share your thoughts of Earthlock, and also share your favorite RPGs, whether classic, modern, or throwback! I’d love to know what you think!

Lightning Ellen April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

Great review! It’s a shame the characters fall flat and the battles are kinda grindy. It looks like an overall fun experience, though.

It’s All Fun And Games April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

Really through review. You keep me up to date on what offerings the Switch has and help push my decision. So now I’m not too sure about Earthlock. Some of the character design is really cool and overall I dig the graphics. But, man the Switch is getting showered with RPGs, and really awesome ones too! I’m not sure if I’ll have the time to pick this one up and play though… Excellent work!

Peter Ritt April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

I like it. The stat redistribution is cool, and the ability to play dead to avoid battle is revolutionary! Pokemon should get on that!

Daryl Talks Games April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

I wish I had an anthropomorphic hammerhead shark as an uncle… great work as always!

LetemcomeInit April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

Ah it’s a shame that the story and character work doesn’t match the lush graphics on this game man, really like the attention to detail in all the rooms and settings, looks like a solid 7 is about right here, maybe a little less for me. Anyway, more importantly, good to catch you again my friend and hope all is good your end!

interlinked Media April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

Great review again Alex. The enthusiasm in your videos is so great! As far as favorite RPG….oh boy. FFX, FFVIII, KH1/2, Parasite Eve and Mario RPG are a few stand outs for me. The list is too long. Looking forward to seeing what’s next.

Crystal Dragon April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

Great review! I’m a fan of RPG’s in general, including one of my favorites Final Fantasy X. I’m glad to see something like the sphere grid, and to an extent, the license board, in Earthlock. It sounds like a good premise. It’s especially nice that you can modify the talent board to suite your needs. It’s more freeing than being locked into a sphere grid. But one of my biggest gripes with RPGs is how much grinding they involve, and this game looks pretty grindy. A slowed-paced RPG without a good story doesn’t sound super appealing to me. I need fleshed out characters and an interesting plot to keep myself invested in the long haul. At least it’s not too long by RPG standards. Also, why is his uncle a fish? I don’t get it, and it sounds fishy. 😛

Great job on this video! Lock and load! 😉

Grana Banana April 12, 2018 at 5:07 am

great review! I was very dissappointed with this game. it felt a bit flat for me.

Leave a Comment

Archives

Archivies

Advertisement

img advertisement