Sunday, April 22, 2018

The Wiiviewer reviews Punch-Out!! Arcade Edition for the Nintendo Switch!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Article

10 Comments

Emerik Steben-Taillon April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

PIZZA PASTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Barrysun April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

thanks for telling me about this game, I was thinking of buying it, but it sounds like it has issues with game play controls.

Ketorulz April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

This is one of those “ghost and goblins scenarios” you just have to keep practicing until you “git gud”. There are fewer fighters in this game so you only have to memorize 6 patterns and yeah you have to learn and adjust as it’s not quite the same as the NES one in controls

adj789 April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Review Flinkhook! it’s so good

Night Yoshi April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

I’ve played the emulated version of this before and the arcade machine as well and all I can say is: not the best start for the Punch Out series. I still like the Wii one best myself.

One 7 Decimal 2 Eight April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

played this in the arcade plenty of times. hated it. played the nes version. loved it. played the snes version. loved it. played this arcade version again on mame. still sucks. tried it again years later on mame to give it a fair shake. still sucks. the controls are just garbage.

JoeTheSchmoe April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

2008: The Wiiviewer reviews Punch Out as his first review
10 years later: The Wiiviewer reviews the arcade version of Punch Out

RIpp Roastonio April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Never played the arcade version. But from what I hear hamster the game developers stay true there arcade roots from controls, lag, graphics etc. With that being said I had no problem with this game. I think its fun the controls are not bad but if you are used of punch out for nes then it may take awhile getting used to.

SeafoamGaming April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

The control issues you mention are sadly part of the arcade original. They’re meant to prevent you from just mashing buttons IIRC, like the stamina thing in NES punchout but invisible. I wouldn’t say this is something skip worthy as I liked this more than the NES game, but the SNES game did the same concept but better. I managed to beat the first five opponents with no problems at least after some trial and error but the last opponent is pure evil as the AI will downright go TAS on you.

Ghost100Buster April 13, 2018 at 5:07 pm

I’ve never been this early for a Wiiviewer review in my life!

Leave a Comment

Recent Comments

Archives

Archivies

Advertisement

img advertisement