Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Defunct Games reviews Metropolis: Lux Obscura by Ktulhu Solutions, available April 4 on Switch, PlayStation 4, PS Vita and PC.

While not as long or involved as Puzzle Quest, Metropolis: Lux Obscura takes the basic formula and turns it into one of the year’s most compelling crime thrillers. The fast-paced match-three gameplay is only made better by a gripping story that offers multiple paths and endings. It’s occasionally buggy and the game could use a little more polishing, but if Metropolis is anything to go on, Ktulhu Solutions has a bright future ahead of them.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Article

10 Comments

V. M. April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

This seems pretty cool, but I prefer matching games with a touchscreen. Ive been spoiled by mobile games.

123kid23 April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

You got another Subscriber I enjoyed the review!!

Fox Mulder April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

When I broke my hand I replayed all the classic Command & Conquer games

Larry Medina April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

I saw a device that u can set up one hand in five circles. It’s expensive but Ima going to buy it some day. I will link the video.
I need this eventually,

Larry Medina April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

I been with u for a long time. I been told u about my disabled thumb. I had the tendon severed and then snapped. The doctor fucked up and the thumb tendon is too short (2 times the tendon snapped and three surgeries later). I can write with a pen but can’t move the thumbs stick unless I use my wrist or set the controller on my lap. The worst day in my life was when I realized the best I got is what I hv now. I play shmups, racers, and fighters. Shmups are dead minus super hydorah, and Darius chronicles. Fighters and racers are being chopped up and sold in sections. It sucks being a disabled thumb gamer this gen.

MrVankog April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

I like Puzzle Quest in general, but I got frustrated with the difficulty early on and quit. The successor was a bit easier at first and only in the end game it became annoying.

King Harkinian April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Maybe I’m just dumb, but the art style for the character art reminds me of Inferno Cop

Cyberpunknut April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

This looks pretty good. A lot better than what I figured from screen shots.

Yes I’ve injured my hands and wrists a few times when I used to box. It’s also given me a case of stone hands so playing stuff wasn’t so easy with fingers that don’t move well.

Sailor Mercury April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Great review. I’m a sucker for match 3 type puzzle games of any genre. I’ve enjoyed Puzzle Quest, Bejeweled, and Hunie Pop. So i think I’ll check this new game out on PS4.

Also I’ve thankfully never had any injuries in my life that were serious enough to prevent gaming.

MonsieurAufziehvogel April 9, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Nice short review. I tested the demo last night and my feelings were mixed. The biggest problem I have is how they try to copy Sin City here. You cannot call this a homage anymore. This is basically Hardins story and naming a character in the game from the series is also a little too much. I was also annoyed after losing a battle to get a Game Over screen just how you described it in the video. It’s pointless to go all the way back just to restart a fight. And restarting a fight is a big deal in this game, some battles are just random RNG and if you don’t have luck, you will lose the battle since your opponents can deal juicy damage to you.

On the other hand, it’s far below 10 bucks so for this price, you actually get some value here.

Leave a Comment

Archives

Archivies

Advertisement

img advertisement